Friday Recipe: Honey Sriracha Chicken

Do you get a craving for something with a kick to it every once in a while?

I certainly do, and I am also 100% on board the Sriracha flavour train!

This super easy stir-fry chicken comes from Prevention RD, written by Nicole Morrisey. The mouth-watering photos come from her blog as well!

This is a recipe that takes almost no prep time, and is dead-easy to make (and almost impossible to screw up!). I love these sorts of recipes for when I get home after a long day at both work and school, because I can quickly turn out something that is healthy and delicious. One other great thing I love about stir-fry recipes is how versatile they are – you can mix up the sauce, but sub in whatever meat or vegetables you want and if you’re feeling confident in your skills, you can leave the road map behind and experiment!
Honey Sriracha Chicken 3
This particular recipe is easy and basic, and calls for cubed chicken to be stir-fried with the honey-sriracha sauce. I try to get a lot of vegetables into my meals, so last time I made this I also through in a LOT of broccoli, which takes the sauce really well! I imagine that bean sprouts would also mix well with this particular recipe, and certainly any other type of meat you have on hand could be cooked up instead of chicken.

Honey Sriracha Chicken

  • 1 lb boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into bite-sized pieces
  • Lots of delicious vegetables (broccoli, snap peas, whatever!)
  • ⅓ cup honey
  • 2 Tbsp sriracha
  • ½ tsp garlic powder
  • 1 Tbsp low-sodium soy sauce
  • ½ tsp onion powder
  • ¼ cup water + ½ Tbsp cornstarch
  • 4-5 scallions, chopped (for garnish)

Heat oil (or use cooking spray) in a large frying pan or wok (wish I had one!), and add the chicken, stirring occasionally until it is cooked through – about 5-6 minutes. Toss in your veggies, and get them cooking, stirring occasionally.

Meanwhile, mix up in a small saucepan your honey (pro-tip – if measuring out your honey, spray the measuring cup with cooking spray first, and the honey will slide right out, no sticking!), sriracha, garlic powder, soy sauce, and onion powder; bring to a low boil over medium-low heat. In a small bowl, whisk to combine the water and cornstarch; add to the sauce pan and whisk well. Cook until sauce thickens, about 2-3 minutes. Add sauce to chicken and toss to coat.

Serve over top of rice ( I love brown basmati rice), with your scallions to garnish!

Note: If you are lazy (like I am), instead of mixing the sriracha sauce in a saucepan, mix all the ingredients except for the cornstarch in a bowl (and use less water than is called for), and then just toss straight into the frying pan. The consistency will be different, but still delicious!

This meal also freezes really well – I froze at least two portions in tupperware for lunches later on, and it certainly stays delicious. Let me know if you enjoy the recipe!

Leave a comment